Easy Advent Idea with the Jesus Storybook Bible

[NOTE: My JSB Advent Ornaments are now found at my Esty shop for only $3! Scroll on down to read more about the ornaments.] 

Welcome to my new blog home! I hope you’ll take a minute to ‘follow’ me here and get regular updates about what’s happening in Swaziland.

Actually, I’m writing this post from my parent’s house in Iowa. So happy to be with family for the holidays! (We’ll head back to Swaziland in time for Ellie to start third grade mid-January.)

Before I jump into Advent…a little (late) shout out to Thanksgiving:

I am THANKFUL for THANKFULNESS.

It’s an under-utilized incredibly powerful tool God has given us to break free from the fears and funks we so often find ourselves mulling around in. Thankfulness brings peace as it gets our focus off of us and onto God’s love and faithfulness. ‘Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus.’  (Philippians 4:6-7) What a GREAT promise.

(I’m also thankful for Cool-Whip. Nothing says ‘home for the holidays’ like a big blob of oils and chemicals whipped into a creamy frenzy topping off my piece of pumpkin pie or jello ‘salad’ (?!) I hate it and LOVE it all at the same time! Probably a good thing it’s not available in Africa.

NOW ON TO ADVENT: I love this time of year!! Last year I posted some printable color-in ornaments to go along with readings from the Jesus Storybook Bible that Ellie and I have used to celebrate Advent the last few years. I’ve had quite a few requests for it this year, so here it is again. You can print out these pages on card-stock and have your children color the corresponding ornament for each day’s story, listed in the reading plan on the last page. You could punch holes in the top and hang them on your tree, or cut a tree out of paper/wrapping paper and glue the ornaments on as you go. EASY EASY EASY. 

Here’s a picture of ours from last year:

Elliewithadventtreesmall

If you don’t have your own copy of the Jesus Storybook Bible you can get it here. It’s GREAT.

You can purchase a PDF of the ornaments here. The PDF includes 25 printable ornaments and reading guide.

[NOTE: I am a support raised missionary, so while you are stopping by, feel free to also go here and make a donation towards our financial support. Sorry for the shameless support raising plea!].

Praying your holiday season is off to a Christ-centered start!

 

97 thoughts on “Easy Advent Idea with the Jesus Storybook Bible

  1. Pingback: Advent: Engage as a Family – The Honeycutt Home

  2. Pingback: Chalkboard Christmas Tree – The Honeycutt Home

  3. Pingback: Advent | free to be fun

  4. Ho are you doing are you still in the ministry? I am getting ready to do an Advent workshop for our Religious Education teachers we have over 80 teachers. I want to use this in our workshop thank you for sharing.
    Kathy

  5. Pingback: How I'm Approaching Christmas Differently This Year - Classical but Relevant

  6. Dear Julie, Hi. I came upon your blog as I was getting a Lenten devotional ready using the Jesus Storybook Bible and saw your Advent Ornaments. I had made one for a Jesse Tree devotional last Christmas and used the JSB along with some other resources. I used your ornaments for the Lenten Dev. for the first 24 days and made small pictures of the New JSB Bible. Are the pictures your own creation? They’re very nice. Are you still in Swaziland? In Christ, Irene.

  7. Pingback: Windsor Baptist Church | Tots @ Home | Nov 29

  8. Pingback: Windsor Baptist Church | Kids @ Home | Nov 29

Leave a comment